It can’t be August already! News flash: Lizzy it is, and that means time for the annual roundup of women in translation read during the previous 12 months.

A phenomenal year it turns out, though I suspect that 37 titles from 10 countries or 37% of my reading is as high as this particular bar will go. Remember I don’t consciously pick based on gender, it just that the ladies have been writing books that have appealed during the past 12 months.

37 titles – far too many to list in detail as I have done in previous years; namely 2020, 2019, 2018. But I will give you some pretty pictures and pick out my top five.

Women in Translation Read August 2020 – January 2021
Women In Translation Read February 2021 – July 2021

The Memory Police and The Employees left me cold (both Booker International shortlistees, interestingly), whereas I didn’t have much to say about Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach’s novellas, so decided to say nothing at all! The rest are all reviewed on the blog, and easily found with the search widget. (EDIT: Have now added a WOMEN IN TRANSLATION tag. One click will take to all of these reviews, where they exist.)

Now for the top 5 in reverse order with links to my reviews:

5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1

5 From Argentina: The Wind that Lays Waste – Selva Almada Translated from Spanish by Chris Andrews

4 From Germany: The Dead Girls’ Class Trip – Anna Seghers Translated from German by Margo Bettauer Dembo

3 From Germany (to Scotland with love): The Peacock – Isabel Bogdan Translated from German by Annie Rutherford

2 From Azerbaijan: Days In The Caucasus – Banine Translated from French by Anne Thompson-Ahmadova

1 From Germany: You’re not Dying – Kathrin Schmidt Translated from German by Christina Les