image

It’s that time of year again. For the sixth consecutive year, time to bury yourselves in the delights of German (language) literature, in whatever language you choose to read it in.

I’m running a little behind the curve this year.  My reasons are explained here, but rest assured I shall do my best to get myself up to speed in the next couple of weeks.  This will include a tidy-up of the dedicated German Literature Blog where I shall post the master indices of the past 5 German Literature Months.  (I apologise in advance for the surge of pingbacks this may cause to GLM regulars, but the gain will be worth the pain.) The linky for this year is already available though.  So don’t forget to link to your contributions to ensure the greatest exposure.  Remember you don’t need a blog to participate.  Reviews on Good Reads, Facebooks, Twitter or any other social media platform all count. Just use the hashtag #germanlitmonth and I will find you. 🙂 This blog is also open to guest reviews, if that’s the way you want to do it.

GLM VI is fully read-as-you-please although I’m hosting Krimi week in week two and Caroline will host a War and Literature readalong of Walter Kempowski’s All for Nothing on 25th November.

image
Guess who needs more bookshelves?

Have you decided what to read yet?   As you can see, I have a problem – despite my ongoing efforts, my German literature TBR is now taller than me, so I’m spoilt for choice.  I will be reviewing the books I read on my recent trip to Germany – mostly Krimis actually, as I was dependent on the Kindle-mainly-Krimi TBR for 4 weeks. So week two is sorted at least.  As for the rest of the month, should I read books by the authors I saw at the Frankfurt Book Fair (Sebastian Fitzek, Katherina Hagena, Therezia Mora), or complete my German Book Prize reading project with Katherina Hacker’s The Have Nots, or follow through on Volker Weidemann’s inspirational Summer before the Dark by reading the works Keun, Roth and Zweig wrote during the summer of 1936? All of those? Other whimsical choices? We’ll see.  I have promised myself that I will read Volker Bräunig’s modern classic Rummelplatz. It’s a biggie, so I’d better get started soon.

As ever, I’m looking forward to this month and all the German lit chatter immensely.  Do let me know in comments if you are planning to join us so that I can add you to the German Lit Month blogroll. And, if you’ve already posted a list of reading plans, please add them to the GLM VI linky.  (I’ve been on the road so have probably not seen them.) Finally remember that for German Literature Mont,  there are only two rules.  1) Whatever you read during German Literature Month must have been written originally in German. 2)  Have fun!