IMG_0106

Es ist so weit!

I have done the admin.  The Linky for German Literature Month contributions – be they plans, reviews, posting of favourite poems, quotes, sample texts, etc, etc – is now available over on http://www.germanlitmonth.blogspot.co.uk. This may be the swansong for that site as Blogger becomes ever more incompatible with IOS even when using Chrome. So much for interoperability standards. I only just managed to get it up and running this year, so let’s make the most of it. I’d love to see lots and lots of German Literature related linkies appearing over there. 😉

One final piece of admin – please let me know if you’re intending to join Caroline and me for our 7th celebration of G-lit, so that I can add you to the GLM VII participants list. Remember the month is fully read-as-you-please – one book, one poem, 20 books or 2000 poems: the choice is entirely yours. The only rule is that whatever you read must have been written originally in German.

There are two readalongs for the social readers among you. I will discuss Yoko Tawada’s Memoirs of A Polar Bear on 15th November and Caroline will discuss Leon Feuchtwanger’s The Oppermanns on the 29th.

Admin over, onto the fun bit – reading plans!

As most of you will know, I retired last year, and have spent significant amounts of time in Germany since then. I have been mainly exploring new-to-me places in the North (Hamburg, Altes Land, Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern) and reading novels set there. Sufficient, in fact, to keep me reviewing during the first half of the month. In the second half  I shall concentrate on German works longlisted for the inaugural Warwick Women in Translation Prize, and, if time permits throw in one or two surprises as well! I’ve still to read the novels for the second half of the month, but it should be doable … as long as there are no snags with ongoing renovations to the house. These should have all been finished a while ago, but the Scottish weather has been messing everyone around and plans are way behind.

I’m sure it will be all right on the night. I just wish someone would tell me which night that will be!

Enough – it is time to begin.

Herzlich Willkommen!  One and all.  Do tell me about your reading plans. Which German-language beauties have you got your eye on this year?