If you saw my 2011 statistics post, you’d know that I awarded the 5-star accolade to 10 books this year – which should make this award-giving ceremony a cinch.  But that would be far too predictable – I like my awards to be spread across the spectrum of my reading, to recognise the best in the different categories read in a particular year.

Those who wish to know which were the 5-star books should pop over to my virtual library where I’ve rated all the books I read in 2011.

Now though let’s move to the Lizzy’s annual award-giving ceremony.

Catering is courtesy of The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days which provided the dessert inspiration at this year’s dinner parties.  Would you like a slice of Lemon Meringue Sponge or Summer Strawberry Cheesecake?  The diet doesn’t start until tomorrow, after all!

Moving swiftly onto a less calorific baker’s dozen (though I suppose that depends on how you feed and water yourself while reading …..)

Audio Book of the Year/Short Story Collection of the Year: Talking Heads Alan Bennett

Best Published in 2011: The Sense of An Ending – Julian Barnes

Biggest Surprise:  Selected Writings – Heinrich von Kleist (Edited by David Constantine)

Comic Read of the Year: Baby Barista and the Art of War  – Tim Kevan

Crime Read of the Year: Dark Matter – Juli Zeh

Discovery of the Year:  The Foxes Come At Night – Cees Nooteboom

Historical Read of the Year: Wolf Hall – Hilary Mantel

Non-Fiction Read of the Year: Dead SharpLen Wanner

Novella of the Year: Down the Rabbit Hole – Juan Pablo Villabolos

So-Good-I-Read-It-Twice: Next World Novella – Matthias Politycki

The One That Got Under My Skin: Great House – Nicole Krauss

The One I’m Kicking Myself For Not Reading Earlier: Resistance – Owen Sheers

Twentieth-Century Classic of the Year: The Slaves of Solitude – Patrick Hamilton

Awarding the Book of the Year was actually a very tough call with the 2011 Booker winner battling it out with the 2009 Booker Winner.  In the end though any fight between the respective protagonists, Tony Webster and Thomas Cromwell, would only have one winner. Hence –

Winner – 2009 Man Booker Prize

Winner – 2009 National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction

Winner – 2010 Walter Scott Prize for historical fiction

Winner – 2010 Tournament of Books

Winner – 2011 Book of the Year (Lizzy’s Literary Life)